The Australian Music Centre announces Jazzahead grant recipients

The Australian Music Centre has announced the recipients of its Jazzahead Grants: Hadley Agrez, Kristin Berardi, Taylor Davis, Natalie Dietz, Nick Garbett, and Stuart Rogers. The six recipients will be joined by AMC Artistic Associates Hamed Sadeghi and Reuben Lewis to form the Australian delegation at Jazzahead this April. 

Grant recipients have been selected from a competitive pool of applicants, based on a remarkable portfolio of work, and the timeliness of the opportunity for their career. 

After two years of limited international travel and a dampened live performance scene in Australia, grant recipients will have the opportunity to rekindle or form new connections in the European jazz and experimental music scene. 

The cohort are looking forward to opportunities for artistic exchange and international trade, including: promoting and recording new work, scoping touring opportunities in Europe, and programming international acts on Australian stages. Award-winning composer and vocalist Natalie Dietz says, “[the] Grant will provide a unique opportunity to network with the European jazz market and promote my new recording to a much wider international audience. It will potentially open doors to future international touring and festival performance opportunities.” 

Taylor Davis will be performing a showcase concert at the conference with his instrumental jazz trio, Brekky Boy. Handpicked by a jury of international jazz experts, Brekky Boy is the only group to represent Australia in a Jazzahead showcase. Presenting their signature blend of cinematic jazz rock to a European audience is a highlight in his Jazzahead itinerary. “We've been working hard on the live show and cannot wait to perform over there. It will also be an incredible experience meeting and watching the other showcasing acts from around the world,” Taylor says. “There's an eclectic mix of really epic music that is going to be presented over there and it's going to be very inspiring.”