Jorge Pardo, Chano Domínguez and Iñaki Salvador to receive the Donostiako Jazzaldia award

At a very special edition of the San Sebastian Jazz Festival, three Donostiako Jazzaldia awards will be presented to three of the most extraordinary Spanish Jazz musicians.

The pertinence and timeliness of these awards is undeniable, given that Pardo, Salvador and Domínguez have developed brilliant musical careers and figure among the continent’s most notable Jazz musicians.

These awards recognise the excellence of a musical career in the field of Jazz and have been received by musicians such as Keith Jarrett, John Zorn, Herbie Hancock, Chick Corea, Hank Jones, Max Roach, Elvin Jones, Clark Terry, Bebo Valdés and Wayne Shorter, among others.


Jorge Pardo

Jorge Pardo, a brilliant flute and sax player, represents Spanish jazz like nobody else. He has collaborated with musicians including Chick Corea, Paco de Lucía, Wagner Tiso, Camarón, Tete Montoliu, Alex Acuña, Gil Goldstein, Peter Erskine, Chano Domínguez and Javier Colina, earning himself a place as one of the most powerful voices of European jazz and as the most innovative of flamenco musician.


Chano Domínguez

Chano Domínguez has garnered numerous awards and international recognition of his prowess. His performances at the San Sebastian Jazz Festival (1995, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2006 y 2017) have always left a good taste in the mouth. He has collaborated, among others, with Enrique Morente, Paco de Lucía and Martirio, Herbie Hancock, Jack DeJohnette, Wynton Marsalis and Stefano Bollani.


Iñaki Salvador 

Iñaki Salvador is one of the best known Basque jazz musicians, author of soundtracks for cinema, television and theatre, with numerous albums to his name and in collaboration with others, creator of various projects warmly received at earlier editions of the San Sebastian Jazz Festival. A participant in the most influential Basque jazz groups, he has collaborated with musicians including Mikel Laboa, Perico Sambeat, Allan Skidmore, Pedro Iturralde, Jean Toussaint, Javier Colina, Jesse Davis, David Xirgu, David Gómez, Mario Rossy, Jorge Rossy, Charles Tolliver, Raynald Colom, Mikel Andueza, Gonzalo Tejada, Joaquín Chacón and Alvin Queen.

More information at: