Grand finale of Melting Pot made in Wroclaw, 26 – 30 April 2016

A project celebrating the UNESCO International Jazz Day & the European Capital of Culture, Wroclaw 2016, supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.
For eight editions, starting in September 2013 until February 2016, young improvisers from various European countries came together to join forces with visual artists, dancers, actors, comic drawers, painters, sculptures, film makers or poets free from any formalities to dive into a new world of artistic encounters and multidisciplinary contaminations for 2 days.

‘All the tools we use for communication are used in all their possible aspects and notions for us to be able to evoke a new quality of communication’ states Piotr Damasiewicz, curator and musician of Melting Pot. For 4 days now, 26 musicians of the first 8 labs will come together in Wroclaw, Poland, between the 26 and 30 April 2016 for the Grand Finale celebrating the freedom of artistic expression and the wide possibilities of collective improvisation. The premiere will be presented to the public on the evening of the 30 of April, on the occasion of the UNESCO International Jazz Day.
Curiosity and openness are again the key driving powers of this gathering, featuring A Composition for 26 Improvisers, a 25-minutes work by Piotr Damasiewicz, devoted to the techniques of contemporary music of the 20th and 21st centuries. Damasiewicz uses techniques of graphic scores giving broad possibilities of interpretation. Also this time we will listen to 26 individual voices. A Composition for 26 Improvisers remains a riddle for all, only one thing is sure: the score includes references to the previous eight editions of the Melting Pot. The second part of evening of the 30th April will consist of another unique musical encounter and world premier: NFM Leopoldinum Chamber Orchestra will join forces with the renowned New York pianist Vijay Iyer, playing with Stephan Crump on double bass and Tishawn Sorey on percussions.
In the intermission a special sound-and-vision presentation will take place in Plac Wolności, featuring a sculpture by Karol Przestrzelski, played by four percussionists. The musicians will be accompanied by a group of dancers.
The ultimate goal of Melting Pot is to serve as a laboratory and pilot for experimentations on international collaborations involving young and emerging artists, multidisciplinary approaches between different art form, and for testing of new business and communication models for the creative sector. The different laboratories of the project, as well as the grand finale now, will be documented and the outcomes shared by the Europe Jazz Network to its members and the wider community of music professionals.
The Melting Pot grand finale involve partners from 6 European countries, Poland, Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Denmark, is supported by the Europe Jazz Network and the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union, and is taking place in the framework of the European Capital of Culture 2016 programme.
30th of April 2016, 8pm, National Forum of Music, Main Hall, Wroclaw, Poland
More information:
Part I: Melting Pot: Made in Wroclaw – Grand Finale
A Composition for 26 Improvisers
Poland /
Piotr Damasiewicz – trumpet, curator
Michał Sember – guitar
Gerard Lebik – saxophone, electronics
Zbigniew Kozera – double bass
Adam Webster – cello
Jakub Miarczyński – percussion
Władysław Kosendiak – saxophone
Ilona Witkowska – poetry, word
Niezależna Manufaktura Taneczna – dance
Karol Przestrzelski – sculpture-installation
Belgium | Handelbeurs Conzertzaal
Karen Willems – drums
Haleen van Haegenbogh – piano
Laurens van Bouwelen –  drums
Ruben Machtelinckx –  guitar

Germany | JazzWerkRuhr
Felix Fritsche –  saxophone
Julius Gabriel – saxophone, clarinet
Fabian Jung –  drums
Achim Zepezauer – electronics
Caspar van Meel –  double bass
André Meisner – saxophone
Florian Walter –  saxophone
Marie Daniels – voice

Estonia | Eesti Jazzliit
Laura Remmel – voice
Mart Soo – guitar, electronics

Ireland | Improvised Music Company
Shane Latimer –  guitar

Danmark | Swinging Europe (Nordic)
Mette Marie Ørnstrup –  voice
Part II
NFM Leopoldinum Chamber Orchestra, Nikola Kołodziejczyk – conductor
Vijay Iyer – piano
Stephan Crump – double bass
Tyshawn Sorey – drums

Cooperation Partners of Melting Pot made in Wroclaw:
Poland / Jazztopad & National Forum of Music
Belgium / Handelbeurs Conzertzaal 
Germany / JazzWerkRuhr
Estonia / Eesti Jazzliit
Ireland / Improvised Music Company
Danmark / Swinging Europe (Nordic)
Europe Jazz Network