Unsigned Only 2012 Winners Announced

  Unsigned Only 2012 Winners Announced   http://www.unsignedonly.com/winners 2012 Unsigned Only Grand Prize Winner Lara Johnston San Francisco, CA, USA K.I.S.S. What makes Lara Johnston so captivating, aside from her girl-next-door beauty, is her powerful voice, dynamic stage presence, creative spirit, and great songwriting. Only 22 years old, she has shared the bill with or performed with such acts as Willie Nelson, Huey Lewis and the News, Journey, Heart, Bonnie Raitt, Steve Miller, Don Henley, rapper J. Dash, and many others. Over the past three years she has toured throughout the world, writing and co-writing songs in LA, London, and Nashville, and balancing her career pursuits with her time as a student in USC\'s Thornton School of Music. This summer, Lara is touring and gigging locally, collaborating as a writer and singer with multiple producers, and putting the final touches on her debut album. http://larajohnston.com/lj http://www.facebook.com/LaraJohnstonSings Unsigned Only is pleased to announce its 2012 winners selected from almost 7,500 entries worldwide. The Grand Prize winner, Unsigned Only\'s highest honor, goes to San Francisco, CA artist Lara Johnston with the song, "K.I.S.S." Johnston was the highest scoring artist overall in the competition and a favorite among the judges. Launched only a year ago and judged by a roster of celebrity notables such as Cyndi Lauper, 3 Doors Down, Kenny Rogers, St. Vincent, Robert Smith (The Cure), and many more, Unsigned Only is a unique music competition designed for solo artists, bands, and singers who are not signed to a major label. With 36% of the entrants and 47% of the winners coming from outside the USA, Unsigned Only has quickly established itself as the international music competition for unsigned artists. Unsigned Only\'s goal is to find outstanding, talented artists: newcomers or veterans...raw or polished...the "gems" that need to be discovered. Candace Avery and Jim Morgan, the founders and directors of Unsigned Only, emphasize that what\'s different about Unsigned Only is the mentoring component. "The Grand Prize winner will be mentored by a group of upper echelon music industry executives, ranging from label presidents to heads of A&R. Because these industry pros are typically hard to reach, this is a rare opportunity for an artist. Gaining access to them for guidance on a one-to-one basis could be a career changer, and we are pleased to offer the opportunity to this year\'s Grand Prize winner, Lara Johnston. She is an exciting artist with a great future." In addition to the Grand Prize winner, many other deserving artists are winners in their respective categories. With a total of nine categories and First and Second Place in each (along with a list of Honorable Mentions), Unsigned Only covers many genres of commercial contemporary music, including: Adult Album Alternative (AAA); Adult Contemporary (AC); Christian; Country; Folk/Singer-Songwriter; R&B/Hip-Hop; Rock; Pop/Top 40; and Vocal Performance. For the 2013 competition, Unsigned Only has added a Teen category for artists 18 years old and younger. Lucio Rubino In addition to the winners selected by the panel of judges, Unsigned Only invited the public to vote for its favorite artist among the 100 finalists. More than 10,000 votes later, the winner was picked by the fans, friends, and family of the finalists. The winner, with 1,185 votes (11.6% of the total vote) is Lucio Rubino of Old Hickory, TN with the song, "Fallin\' From The Start." As the Fandemonium winner, he wins $1,000 in US cash and the honor of being the first Fandemonium winner! http://www.luciorubino.com http://www.facebook.com/luciorubinomusic For a complete list of Unsigned Only winners and to hear the winning songs, go to: http://www.unsignedonly.com/winners 2012 Judges 3 Doors Down Kenny Rogers Cyndi Lauper Robert Smith The Cure Kelly Clarkson Manchester Orchestra Angie Stone St. Vincent Musiq Soulchild Craig Morgan Jeremy Camp Charlie Daniels Aaron Shust Matt and Kim The Mountain Goats G. Love Scott Lapatine Founder/Editor-In-Chief, Stereogum Josh Jackson Co-Founder and Editor-In-Chief Paste Magazine Steve Lillywhite Producer   Mentors Monte Lipman President Pete Ganbarg Executive VP Head of A&R David Wolter Senior VP of A&R Pete Giberga Head of A&R David Wilkes VP of A&R Josh Bailey Sr. VP of A&R Trevor Jerideau VP of A&R Jason Geter President Jason McArthur VP of A&R Kim Stephens A&R   www.twitter.com/UnsignedOnly www.facebook.com/UnsignedOnly www.myspace.com/UnsignedOnly www.unsignedonly.com Unsigned Only 1307 Eastland Ave Nashville, TN 37206 Phone: 615.251.4441 Fax: 615.251.4442